An official website of the United States government.

Assessing and Managing Chemicals under TSCA

Chemicals Undergoing Risk Evaluation under TSCA

The existing chemicals listed on this page are undergoing risk evaluation as part of EPA’s existing chemical process under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) to determine whether they  present an unreasonable risk to public health or the environment under the conditions of use.

Learn more about:

Chemical Name CASRN Chemical Group Date Initiated Docket Number(s) Status* Agency Contact
Asbestos 1332-21-4 N/A December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0736EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0501

Part 1: Final risk evaluation (December 2020)

Part 2: Initiated

Part 1: Alie Muneer
Email: muneer.alie@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-6369 

Part 2: Peter Gimlin
Email: gimlin.peter@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 566-0515

1-Bromopropane 106-94-5 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0235EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0741 Final risk evaluation (August 2020) Ana Corado
Email: Corado.ana@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-0140
Carbon Tetrachloride 56-23-5 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0499

EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0733

Final risk evaluation (October 2020) Claudia Menasche
Email: Menasche.claudia@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-3391
C.I. Pigment Violet 29 (PV29) 81-33-4 Pigments December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0604EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0725 Final risk evaluation (January 2021) Todd Coleman
Email: Coleman.todd@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-1208
Cyclic Aliphatic Bromide Cluster (HBCD) 25637-99-4; 3194-55-6; 3194-57-8 Flame retardants December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0237EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0735 Final risk evaluation (September 2020) Sue Slotnick
Email: Slotnick.sue@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 566-1973
1,4-dioxane 123-91-1 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0238EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0723 Final risk evaluation (December 2020) Cindy Wheeler
Email: Wheeler.cindy@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 566-0484
Methylene Chloride 75-09-2 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0437EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0742 Final risk evaluation (June 2020) Ingrid Feustel
Email: Feustel.ingrid@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-3199
N-Methylpyrrolidone (NMP) 872-50-4 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0236EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0743 Final risk evaluation (December 2020) Eileen Sheehan
Email: Sheehan.eileen@epa.gov
Phone: (415) 972-3287
Perchloroethylene 127-18-4 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0502; EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0732 Final risk evaluation (December 2020) Tyler Lloyd
Email: Lloyd.tyler@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-4016
Trichlorethylene (TCE) 79-01-6 Solvents December 2016 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2016-0737; EPA-HQ-OPPT-2019-0500 Final risk evaluation (November 2020) Katie McNamara
Email: Mcnamara.katelan@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-4361
p-Dichlorobenzene 106-46-7 N/A December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0446 Final scope (September 2020) Eileen Sheehan
Email: Sheehan.eileen@epa.gov
Phone: (415) 972-3287
1,2-Dichloroethane 107-06-2 Solvents December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0427 Final scope (September 2020) Katie McNamara
Email: Mcnamara.katelan@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-4361
trans-1,2- Dichloroethylene 156-60-5 Solvents December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0465 Final scope (September 2020) Brandon Huston
Email: Huston.brandon@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-5992
o-Dichlorobenzene 95-50-1 N/A December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0444 Final scope (September 2020) Kelly Summers
Email: Summers.kelly@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-2201
1,1,2-Trichloroethane 79-00-5 Solvents December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0421 Final scope (September 2020) Katie McNamara
Email: Mcnamara.katelan@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-4361
1,2-Dichloropropane 78-87-5 Solvents December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0428 Final scope (September 2020) Clara Hull
Email: Hull.clara@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-3954
1,1-Dichloroethane 75-34-3 Solvents December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0426 Final scope (September 2020) Clara Hull
Email: Hull.clara@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-3954
Dibutyl phthalate (1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1,2- dibutyl ester) 84-74-2 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0503 Final scope (September 2020) Peter Gimlin
Email: Gimlin.peter@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 566-0515
Butyl benzyl phthalate - 1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1- butyl 2(phenylmethyl) ester 85-68-7 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0501 Final scope (September 2020) Bethany Masten
Email: Masten.bethany@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-8803
Di-ethylhexyl phthalate  - (1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1,2- bis(2-ethylhexyl) ester) 117-81-7 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0433 Final scope (September 2020) Sarah Cox
Email: Cox.sarah@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-3961
Di-isobutyl phthalate  - (1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1,2- bis-(2methylpropyl) ester) 84-69-5 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0434 Final scope (September 2020) Jordan Garbin
Email: Garbin.jordan@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-4156
Dicyclohexyl phthalate 84-61-7 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0504 Final scope (September 2020) Claire Brisse
Email: Brisse.claire@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-9004
Di-isodecyl phthalate (DIDP) – (1,2-benzenedicarboxylic acid 1,2-diisodecyl ester) 26761-40-0, 68515-49-1 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0435 Draft Scope (November 2020) Bethany Masten
Email: Masten.bethany@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-8803
Di-isononyl phthalate (DINP) – (1,2-benzenedicarboxylic acid, 1,2-diisononyl ester) 28553-12-0; 68515-48-0 Phthalates December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0436 Draft scope (November 2020) Bethany Masten
Email: Masten.bethany@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-8803
4,4'-(1-Methylethylidene)bis[2, 6-dibromophenol] (TBBPA) 79-94-7 Flame retardants December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0462 Final scope (September 2020) Hannah Blaufuss
Email: Blaufuss.hannah@epa.gov 
Phone: (202) 564-5614
Tris(2-chloroethyl) phosphate (TCEP) 115-96-8 Flame retardants December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0476 Final scope (September 2020) Claudia Menasche
Email: Menasche.claudia@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-3391
Phosphoric acid, triphenyl ester (TPP) 115-86-6 Flame retardants December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0458 Final scope (September 2020) Sue Slotnick
Email: Slotnick.sue@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 566-1973
Ethylene dibromide 106-93-4 N/A December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0488 Final scope (September 2020) Amy Shuman
Email: Shuman.amy@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-2978
1,3-Butadiene 106-99-0 N/A December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0451

Final scope (September 2020)

Brooke Porter
Email: Porter.Brooke@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-6388
1,3,4,6,7,8-Hexahydro-4,6,6,7,8,8-hexamethylcyclopenta [g]-2-benzopyran (HHCB) 1222-05-5 Fragrance additives December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0430 Final scope (September 2020) Ana Corado
Email: Corado.ana@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-0140
Formaldehyde 50-00-0 N/A December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0438 Final scope (September 2020) Todd Coleman
Email: Coleman.todd@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-1208
Phthalic anhydride 85-44-9 N/A December 2019 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0459 Final scope (September 2020) Victoria Ellenbogen
Email: Ellenbogen.victoria@epa.gov
Phone: (202)564-2053

Octamethylcyclotetra- siloxane (D4) 

556-67-2 N/A October 2020 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0443 Initiated Bethany Masten
Email: Masten.bethany@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-8803

* Status: “Initiated”: Chemicals that have been designated as a high priority or for which risk evaluation has begun. “Draft Scope”: EPA has published a draft scope document for public comment. “Final Scope”: EPA has published a final scope document (or problem formulation for the first 10). “Draft risk evaluation”: EPA has published a draft risk evaluation. “Final risk evaluation”: EPA has completed a final risk evaluation.