An official website of the United States government.

Due to a lapse in appropriations, EPA websites will not be regularly updated. In the event of an environmental emergency imminently threatening the safety of human life or where necessary to protect certain property, the EPA website will be updated with appropriate information. Please note that all information on the EPA website may not be up to date, and transactions and inquiries submitted to the EPA website may not be processed or responded to until appropriations are enacted.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

CAA Permitting in EPA's Great Lakes Region

EPA's Great Lakes region (Region 5) serves Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin and 35 Tribes.

Current Actions

Maeder Brothers Quality Wood Pellets Inc. Part 49 Tribal Minor NSR Permit
Final permit issued on July 12, 2018

Grand Casino Mille Lacs  PSD and Part 71 Permit Modification
Final permit issued on August 2, 2018

State/Tribal/Local Permitting Authorities

Region 5 has approved or delegated authority for these states and other jurisdictions to issue certain CAA permits.

Contact Information for Region 5:

Genevieve Damico (, 312-353-4761
Chief, Air Permits Section

Responsibility Contact